NASCAR's Round of Eight is set

Compared to the other playoff races this season, the race from Kansas Speedway was pretty low key. Chase Elliott and Aric Almirola came into Kansas already clinching spots into the Round of Eight, thanks to their wins at Dover and Talladega, respectively.

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, and Joey Logano were in decent spots to advance from Kansas.  Kurt Busch, Clint Bowyer, and reigning champ Martin Truex Jr came into Kansas above the cutoff line and needed a good run.  Brad Keselowski, Ryan Blaney, Kyle Larson, and Alex Bowman came into Kansas below the cutoff line, and needed some help.

When the dust settled, the bottom four coming into Kansas were the same four drivers that were eliminated from advancing to the Round of Eight.  All four Stewart Haas cars (Harvick, Bowyer, Kurt Busch, and Almirola) advance, as does Kyle Busch, reigning champ Martin Truex Jr., Kansas polesitter Joey Logano, and Kansas winner Chase Elliott. 

The new points are as follows:
1. Kyle Busch--4055
2. Kevin Harvick--4054
3. Martin Truex Jr.--4038
4. Chase Elliott--4018
5. Clint Bowyer--4015
6. Joey Logano--4015
7. Kurt Busch--4015
8. Aric Almirola--4006

Martinsville is next week, followed by Texas and ISM Speedway in Phoenix.  After Phoenix, the Round of Four will be set and the championship race will be run at Homestead-Miami.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content